NES is an NHS Scotland board with national responsibility for GP postgraduate training.Applicants apply to train in the Scottish deanery; if accepted, they can specify one of four regions within which they wish to train. Each region has several training programmes, each with their own training programme directors:
  • West Region: the largest region, covering Greater Glasgow, South West Scotland, and much of the central belt, including Stirlingshire.

  • South East Region: covers Edinburgh, West Lothian, and the South East of Scotland, including some of Fife.

  • East Region: covers the cities of Perth and Dundee, as well as wider Tayside and some of Fife.

  • North Region: covers the cities of Aberdeen and Inverness, and most of the highlands.